Coping at home

I can’t believe it’s over been a week since I have returned from Colombia. I still feel like I’m dreaming. Am I really back in Washington? I mean how can I be expected to go back into my old ways when I just had one of the most life changing experiences of my life?! I just can’t. I swear if my family wasn’t waiting on the other side of the gate at the airport I would have “accidently” missed my flight. Thank you guys for being there for me!

Featured image   Featured image

Adjusting to the home life is a lot harder than I anticipated. I knew it would be hard, but DANG! I constantly catch myself daydreaming about places I want to visit, upcoming trips, and what hikes I could do today. Don’t get me wrong, Washington is my home, I love it dearly. There are just so many other places that sound more appealing for the time being.

The hardest question that everyone seems to ask is, “what was the best part?” Gee, I don’t know, EVERYTHING. I can’t answer that. The sceneries, food, people, whether, and being surrounded by Spanish all day, did I mention the food?

This post may have come out of the gate a bit negative, but bear with me. I’m just working through some things right now, patience please.

Coming back to the states brings some new adventures that I am very excited for. I get to keep exploring my home country, blog about my home state, and save up to go out and travel again!

See, told you the positivity was coming! Leaving Medellin, I was a whole mix of emotions. But nonetheless I knew it was something I had to do, which is the topic of this post. Coping at Home. Sometimes good things have to come to an end, I say sometimes because it’s up to YOU how to keep the good times rolling.

I kept the good times rolling by spending time with my best friend and of course with the family. So to get out of the funk of coming home after an amazing trip, I wrote down a few things that helped me through the pain.

1. Get your grub on!

Now I’m not condoning eating your feelings, but a good meal can help anyone out of a funk. So I say call up a couple of friends, go to your favorite spot and indulge a little. Maybe eat family style so you don’t feel so guilty.

Featured image       Featured image

2. Have a movie night 

A good laugh cures a lot of things and is beneficial for the soul. I was almost disowned by my family when they found out I hadn’t seen Fools Rush In or Clueless. I’m not trying to point any fingers here, but it is kind of their fault, too. My advice is to have a movie night with a couple classics. Seems simple enough, right? Best part is, it’s FREE! That perks up the attitude a little bit, too. Especially if you did what I did and spent more than you thought you would on your trip. Whoops.

3. Count your blessings

So this was a fun day, I get a call from my Dad before heading to work and I have been back about 3 days.

“Hey Sam, so I was putting in your battery today and noticed that someone stole your stereo.”

I couldn’t believe it! I’ll spare you from what I actually said.

But hey what can you do eh? I know, I could’ve stayed in South America. I know coming home is crappy on its own that when bad things happen they seem worse than they really are. Just remember to take a step back and let it go. It’s dead and gone so move on. Everything always works itself out eventually. So when bad things happen, write down three things that you are thankful for in that moment! It’s putting salt in the wound a little, but in the end will help you.

Thankful for:

A working car

A job

Have other alternatives to listen to music (phone, Bose stereos, etc.)

4. Look up your next destination

For some the first week might be too soon, but it helped me. I started looking up my next trip pretty much the day after I got home. You’re already motivated to get back out there so keep the goal in mind, to travel again SOON. I thought it was important to start day one being back, because it kicks off the mindset for the rest of your time at home. The sooner you start planning the sooner you can get back out there! That was my thinking anyways, plus it means you start saving sooner.

Featured image

5. Make a goal list

There are always temptations to not travel. Whether it’s because of a job, family, or boyfriend/girlfriend. There are certain hoops we all sort of feel compelled to jump through. We’re told to start by getting an education, meet someone, get married, buy a nice house, car, and that’s life. It’s difficult and intimidating to go against the pack, but it’s crucial to your happiness. No one made history by obeying the rules, but rather redefining them. So often people think they can’t do something because they have other obligations, which may be true. But at the end of the day realize that life is short and before you know it all the time you thought you had is gone. When you reflect on your life it’s important that you chose to live life instead of settling for it. When memories are still fresh that is the best time to write down traveling goals.

Featured image

What are your traveling goals? When was the last time you had a life changing travel experience, but had to leave? How did you adjust to home life?

5 comments

  1. my random musings · April 11, 2015

    Adjusting back again after a trip is hard. I just typically throw myself into my daily routines and talk about my trip with friends and the adventures I had and the food and eventually I get caught up in the rat race. But having an idea about the next destination is always a great idea. Right now i am throwing myself into running half marathons and looking up places I can go run a destination half marathon within the US. By the way, welcome home.

    Like

    • wanderessoftheworld · April 11, 2015

      I definitely know what you mean about throwing yourself into your old daily routine, it helps. You should definitely do the half marathons around the US, sounds like a great adventure! Keep up the great work! Thank you for the support! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. suzie81speaks · May 9, 2015

    Absolutely loved this! It must be quite difficult to get back in the routine now!

    Like

    • wanderessoftheworld · May 10, 2015

      Thank you so much for reading suzie81speaks! Cannot tell you how much your work inspires me and for you to read mine, wow fan girl moment. I really appreciate it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

